An oft-mentioned shortcoming of the Gaggia Classic is the crappy steam knob. It’s not ergonomic, can break, and is just not that good looking:

bad steam knob

Modified from image by Guy Sie

I was working on my 2014 Gaggia Classic last week and cracked the knob trying to remove it. Instead of paying 20 bucks for a equally-crappy replacement, I decided I wanted to try and build a replacement. There are a few mods floating around out there, but they either don’t appeal to my aesthetics, or there are no instructions on replicating what they’ve done.

After looking at Gaggia parts diagrams, making some (somewhat) careful measurements, and spending more time browsing McMaster-Carr and many other similar parts sites than I care to admit, I came up with a solution that I thought would work. Specifically, I wanted to figure out something that would meet the following requirements:

As it turns out, the robotics hobby world has some 6mm D-shafts on motors, and they have lots of parts that follow consistent standards (and cross-standard adapters), so I came up with a few different possibilities for prototyping a new knob. After settling on one, I crossed my fingers, and placed an order. Two days later, I received the parts and spent a few minutes putting them together. Thankfully, the final product turned out as way better than I could have hoped for a prototype:

new steam knob
animation of new steam knob!

Want to build one yourself? Read on:

Tools and Parts List:

I ended up buying all of the parts from ServoCity. I have no affiliation with them - I didn’t even know they existed a week ago - but they seemed to be a reliable place to order from and they had everything I needed - most importantly, hardware designed to join a 6mm D-shaft. This parts list cost approximately $30 including shipping to Seattle:

You’ll also need:

Instructions

The assembly is pretty self explanatory, but here’s a basic guide. As easy as it is to make this change, this mod might void any warranty you have, and you could inadvertently damage your Gaggia during installation, so proceed at your own risk:

  1. buy the parts
  2. unplug the gaggia from the wall outlet and make sure it has cooled to room temperature
  3. put the o-ring on the pulley
  4. insert the set screw into the small hole on the side hub, screw in enough to secure it but not enough to block the D-bore hole.
  5. assemble the parts as pictured: hub, spacer, pulley with o-ring. Make sure the hub screw holes, the 4 unthreaded hub spacer holes, and 4 of the center pulley holes line up:
    basic order of parts
  6. push the screws through the 4 center holes that line up with the unthreaded holes on the hub spacer and threaded holes on the hub, and thread them into the hub. Tighten down with the 7/64” bit:
    screwing in some screws
  7. unscrew the two screws in the back of the gaggia lid, remove the lid, and remove the old steam knob. The old steam knob should just pull off, but a flathead screwdriver can help remove it. Steps 2 and 3 of this IFixit tutorial describe how to remove the lid and steam knob with some nice pictures if you need a visual.
  8. inspect the brass steam valve shaft. Using the old steam knob partially slid onto the valve shaft or a pair of pliers, gently turn the valve shaft until the flat side of the valve shaft is facing the back of the machine, about 45 degrees from vertical:
    brass valve shaft
  9. line up the flat side of the D-bore hub on your newly assembled knob with the flat side of the brass valve shaft, and slide the knob onto the shaft. Inside the machine, slide the hub down the shaft until you reach the end of the flat section of the shaft.
    line up the shaft with the bore
  10. tighten down the set screw in the hub with the 3/32” bit until the knob is firmly attached to the brass shaft. Be careful not to overtighten here - I think the set screw can probably bite into and mar the brass valve. Gently pull on the knob to make sure it’s firmly attached, and try turning the knob to see if you can move the valve.
  11. replace the lid and screw it back down.

You’re done!

Closing thoughts and future improvements

With this basic hardware (hub and spacer), I think one could easily mod this to use other knobby sorts of things. I have a few things I’d like to improve in a new iteration:

I hope this was helpful! Please feel free to reach out on twitter with any questions.